Katie Gregory Feature

Name: Krystal Dawn Gregory- I go by my nickname Katie.

How are y'all doing? God is good all the time. Right? Amen.

I'm here to tell you a story that God has turned into a beautiful living testimony. It began on November 2, 1989. I was delivered full term weighing in at two pounds and four ounces. Yes, definitely a premie. My birth mother drank while pregrant with me. After she gave birth the doctors found many problems. I was diagnosed with Fetal Alcohol syndrome. They sent me to a larger hospital for NICU until I gained enough weight. I was there for six months.

Two years later (Spring of 1992) my birth mother became ill due to cirrhosis of the liver. Before going into the hospital she gave me to relatives until she was able to be released. But she passed away. My childhood was great, but I was sickly and had developmental delays. So going to doctors was part of a routine. Growing up, I traveled to the mountains for vacation with family. We used to go fishing and camping all the time. Friends were somewhat hard to come by, but I created my own imaginary world where I had many imaginary friends. School was usually fun. I was smart though I struggled at times with behavioral issues. But I was a hard worker. In May of 2009, I graduated from high school. Then attended a local two year college and obtained an Associates with applied science in business. Oh how I miss the 90's. To me those were the good ole days.

My adult life is great and comes with its own set of challenges. I'm not able to drive due to impaired vision/cognitive delays. I don't work because of my inability to handle stressful environments. Like many adults I do have responsibilities. I attend a local church. There are times I struggle with the affects of Fetal Alcohol syndrome from depression to lonliness. Relationships don't work well for me. I dated a childhood friend I grew up with all my life. We got engaged, but ended it because I couldn't handle the stress or responsibility of a decent relationship with someone. Plus social issues are a factor as well. I prefer to have my space and be left alone. That is okay; at least I tried. I'm happy being single and free. Now I'm twenty-eight years old; turning twenty-nine in November. I'm living at home with family. It would be cool to have my own place, but just can't afford it and I don't have access to certain services because of where I live. All I can say is I'm loved and very well cared for by family and friends. That is all folks. Here are a few cool fun facts about me:

Pet(s): Dogs are pawesome. Chihuahua named Elvis.

I love Jesus, boats, music, technology, and travel

I still have my imaginary world (keeping this one to myself)

Favorite book: Bible

Favorite movie: Titanic and Deeply (Kirsten Dunst)

Favorite place(s): Mountains and where ever there is water such as lake, river, or ocean

Favorite food/beverage: I am a foodie. I'll eat anything as long as it is not raw uncooked fish/meat. I've tried alcohol (yucky), just give me an ice cold coca-cola please. Dark chocolate is a huge favorite.

Children: 0, I don't want NO kids either. Dogs are my preference. Cats are okay too, but NOT in the house.

Activities/Hobbies: Art, Youtube (check out my youtube channel- KG's Lounge), and sleeping

Favorite game: Goodgame Big Farm and Fate

Favorite bible verse:

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans I have for you," declares the Lord, "Plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future."